Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


| Print
5325 For the third-consecutive year, Reinhardt University celebrated accomplishments on and off the field from the previous season at the Reinhardt Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly (RESPY) Awards Show on Thursday, Aug. 29, 2019 inside the Brown Athletic Center.
This year’s festivities, Cirque Du Soar-Leil, featured a total of 30 awards and four new inductions into the Reinhardt Athletic Hall of Fame for the class of 2019 – Leah Derringer of women’s cross country, Kinsey Galyon of Women’s Basketball and Jarrod Willis and Michael Willis of baseball.
Additional highlights included Golden Eagle award winners (considered Reinhardt’s Players of the Year) Katie Yarish of women’s lacrosse and Zane Anderson of men’s lacrosse. The Coach of the Year honor went to wrestling’s Jeff Bedard, who helped guide the Eagles to the 2019 NAIA Wrestling National Championships with a 12-2 overall record and was named NAIA Wrestling Coach of the Year after the team – for the first time in the history of the Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) Championship – swept the entire slate of 10 weight classes en route to the AAC title.
Wrestling would then go on to earn five All-Americans at the NAIA National Championships and finish the year ranked No. 5 in the country.
Team of the Year from last season at Reinhardt went to men’s lacrosse. Led by NAIA Men's Lacrosse Coach of the Year, John Snow, a hot start and smothering defense propelled the top-ranked Eagles to their third-consecutive NAIA Men's Lacrosse National Invitational championship with an 11-4 triumph over the host school and sixth-seeded Aquinas (Mich.).
Reinhardt claimed yet another red banner after reeling off 16-consecutive victories en route to the championship and a 16-1 overall record.
To watch the video of the 2019 RESPYS, please click here. The program begins at approximately at 45:00.

2019 RESPYS (Aug. 29, 2019 – Reinhardt University's Brown Athletic Center) 
Eagle Scholars
  • The student-athletes who are recognized as Eagle Scholars have completed a full season of competition with their respective team, while maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or higher over the course of a school year.
Female Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
  • Emily Draper, softball
Male Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
  • Teon Burroughs, football
Breakthrough Team of the Year
  • Women’s Lacrosse
Outstanding Team of Service
  • Softball
Best Regular Season Performance by an Individual Female & Male
  • Katie Yarish, women’s lacrosse and Antonio Stewart, wrestling
Female & Male Freshman of the Year
  • Emily Charbonneau, volleyball and Jordi Puig, men’s tennis
Newcomers of the Year
  • Carlee Baxter, volleyball and Martin Mendoza, men’s tennis
Assistant Coach of the Year
  • Zack Schultze, men’s soccer
Highest Team GPA
  • Women’s Cross Country – 3.6 GPA
Thelma Rogers Female Silver Eagle
  • Angel Cornista, volleyball
Thelma Rogers Male Silver Eagle
  • Torge Wiedenroth, men’s soccer
Stat Stuffer
  • JT Graydon, football
Best Championship Performance by a Team
  • Volleyball
Best Championship Performance by an Individual
  • Torge Wiedenroth, men’s soccer and Michael Carew, wrestling
Comeback Player of the Year
  • Natalie Parlato, softball
Best Game
  • Men’s Soccer, Bryan (Tenn.) match in the 2018 AAC Championship final (1-0 win)
Head Coach of the Year
  • Jeff Bedard, Wrestling
Female & Male Record-Breaking Performance
  • Carlee Baxter, volleyball, broke most assists in a single season (1,167) and (51) solo assists in one match and Aaron Whitten, men’s soccer, five goals and two assists for 12 points against AAC opponent St. Andrews (N.C.).
Female & Male Clutch Performance of the Year
  • Caroline Copenhaver, women’s lacrosse, would come up big against Point (Ga.) in the regular-season finale with six goals to help the Eagles claim their first AAC championship crown with an 18-5 victory. Sam Alexander, men’s tennis, who is ranked No. 27 in the nation in singles play, came back to win after he was down a set to help the Eagles earn their conference tournament title.
Female Golden Eagle
  • Katie Yarish, women’s lacrosse, an NAIA First Team All-American, had 147 draw controls heading into the postseason and was First Team All-Conference with 78 goals to go along with a squad-best 88 assists.
Male Golden Eagle
  • Zane Anderson, men’s lacrosse, the NAIA Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year, gathered 30 goals and 30 assists during the season as he was a key piece to Reinhardt's success as the Eagles claimed their third-straight NAIA National Invitational Championship.
Play of the Year
  • Gavin Bank – Men’s Lacrosse
Biggest Upset
  • Women’s Volleyball
Team of the Year
  • Men’s Lacrosse
For up-to-the-minute Eagles sports news, follow Reinhardt Athletics on Facebook, @RU_Eagles on Twitter and @ru_eagles on Instagram. 

For more information on Reinhardt Athletics, please click here